• Seefeld
  • Seefeld
  • Seefeld
  • Seefeld

Living or staying in the Olympiaregion Seefeld

Seefeld and its neighbouring resorts of Leutasch, Reith bei Seefeld, Mösern, Buchen und Scharnitz, together make up the Olympiaregion Seefeld. It is located approx. 17 kilometres northwest of the Tyrolean capital, Innsbruck and about 10 kilometres from the German border.

Googlemap-seefeld

The Olympiaregion

With 279 km of trails, the Olympiaregion Seefeld is generally regarded as Europe’s mecca for cross-country skiing. “Classical skiers and skaters” alike can enjoy a total of around 300 km of cross-country trails. No wonder the Olympia region of Seefeld was recognised as one of the Best Cross-Country Skiing Areas 2007 by the motoring organisation ADAC. Readers of the DSV Atlas Ski also voted it number one (out of 232 nominations worldwide) in the Excellent Trails category.

Seefeld first achieved international recognition as the venue for the Nordic disciplines of the Winter Olympics in Innsbruck (1964 and 1976). Nine years after the second Olympics, Seefeld went on to host the Nordic World Championships in 1985.

Even in winter, many guests come to Seefeld not just for the cross-country or alpine skiing, but to enjoy the diverse range of leisure and sporting activities which are available away from the slopes. Dog-sledding, curlingice-skating, snowshoe hiking, tobogganing, as well as other fun snow-based activities such as snow rafting, are just some of the exciting experiences on offer. And for water-lovers, there is a huge fun pool (at the Olympia Sports & Congress centre) with both indoor and outdoor swimming, a 140-metre white-water chute, the 110-metre Silver Star family slide and a large sauna complex. In the winter season, guests can take advantage of over 140 km of well-prepared hiking trails, whilst in the warmer summer months the Seefeld region offers over 650 km of hiking paths and more than 266 km of trails suitable for running or Nordic Walking. And with over 570 km of cycle paths, ranging from easy tours for the whole family to challenging routes for the fittest of  mountain bikers, there really is something for everyone.

The resort also has a fitness studio, beach volleyball court, biathlon facilities (including a summer biathlon), a public library, campsite, casino, three discos, a cinema, three Kneipp pools, two minigolf courses and a yoga centre (at the Hotel Klosterbräu). There are also two indoor riding arenas, and an indoor tennis centre - with eight courts – which is used for major events, such as the Seniors European Tennis Championships. The Seefeld Tennis Club also has six clay courts and there are others available near the indoor tennis centre. In 2011, the resort also gained an asphalted roller ski track, suitable for use when completing the roller ski biathlon.

The jewels in Austria’s golfing crown

The Seefeld high plateau is a veritable paradise for golf enthusiasts. Whether you want to improve your handicap or simply enjoy the ultimate game on one of the world’s most beautiful courses – this is the perfect place!

Seefeld-Wildmoos Golf Club

The 18 fairways of the Seefeld-Wildmoos Golf Club, one of “Austria’s Leading Golf Courses”, are designed in such a way that they blend perfectly into the natural landscape of undulating alpine meadows and larch and birch forests. Surrounded by majestic firs and spruces, experts have ranked it among the top 100 golf courses worldwide. www.seefeldgolf.at

Seefeld Golf Academy

The 9-hole Golf Academy offers the perfect practice area for golfers of all abilities and there are highly-experienced golf pros on hand to guide beginners round the academy’s well-tended green.
www.golfacademy-seefeld.at

Seefeld s situated on the Mittenwald rail line and is accessible by train from both Munich and Innsbruck. It is also conveniently located on the  S5 S-Bahn route (Innsbruck-Scharnitz). With the changeover to the winter timetable of Deutsche Bahn in 2010, Seefeld became the highest ICE station in Europe. At weekends there are two ICE services in each direction (annual timetable 2012).

By car, Seefeld can be reached via the B177 which goes from Zirl via the steep Zirler Berg to Scharnitz and then on to Mittenwald in Bavaria. There is another road connection from the Inn Valley which runs from Telfs via Mösern, or alternatively, you can reach Mittenwald by taking the Leutasch road and crossing the Scharnitz pass.

Innsbruck airport is approx. 20 km from Seefeld. In winter there are connecting flights from Hamburg, Berlin, Cologne and Frankfurt.

seefeld-map

• Seefeld
  • Seefeld
  • Seefeld
  • Seefeld

Leben und Wohnen in der Olympiaregion Seefeld

Seefeld bildet mit seinen Nachbarorten Leutasch, Reith bei Seefeld, Mösern, Buchen und Scharnitz die Olympiaregion Seefeld. Seefeld liegt rund 17 Kilometer nordwestlich der Landeshauptstadt  Innsbruck und etwa 10 Kilometer von der deutschen Grenze entfernt.

Googlemap-seefeld

Die Olympia-Region

Die 279 km Loipen der Olympiaregion Seefeld gelten als das Skilanglauf-Mekka in Europa. Für “Klassiker & Skater” stehen insgesamt ca. 300km Loipen zur Verfügung. Die Olympiaregion Seefeld wurde vom ADAC mit dem Titel Bestes Langlaufgebiet 2007 ausgezeichnet. Bei der Leserwahl des DSV-Atlas Ski wurde das Gebiet der Olympiaregion Seefeld mit Platz 1 von 232 weltweit nominierten Gebieten in der Kategorie Exzellente Loipen ausgezeichnet.

Internationale Bekanntheit erlangte Seefeld als Austragungsort der nordischen Skidisziplinen der Olympischen Winterspiele in Innsbruck (1964 und 1976). Neun Jahre später, nach den zweiten Olympischen Winterspielen, fand die Nordische Skiweltmeisterschaft 1985 in Seefeld statt.

Viele Gäste kommen selbst im Winter nicht ausschließlich zum Skifahren/Langlaufen nach Seefeld, sondern auch wegen des großen Angebots abseits der Pisten. Pferdeschlittenfahrten, Eisstockschießen, Schlittschuhfahren, Schneeschuhwandern, Rodeln, Snowfun-Sportarten (Snowrafting), das große Erlebnisbad (Olympia- und Kongresszentrum) mit Innen- und Außenpool, 140-m-Wildwasser- und 110-m-SilverStar-Familienrutsche und einem großzügigen Saunenbereich bieten ein abwechslungsreiches Freizeit und Sportangebot.  Über 140 km Wanderwege werden auch im Winter präpariert.

Im Sommer bietet die Region Seefeld über 650 km Wanderrouten, über 266 km Routen für Laufen und Nordic Walking stehen den Sportbegeistern in der warmen Jahreszeit offen.Mit über 570 km Radwegen, angefangen bei leichten Runden für die ganze Familie bis hin zu anspruchs-vollen Routen für den aktiven Bergbiker und Sportler, ist garantiert für jeden die richtige Strecke dabei.

Weiters verfügt der Ort über ein Fitness-Studio, einen Beachvolleyballplatz, eine Biathlonanlage (auch Sommerbiathlon möglich), eine öffentliche Bibliothek, einen Campingplatz, ein Spielcasino, drei Discotheken, ein Kino, drei Kneippanlagen, zwei Minigolfanlagen, ein Yogazentrum im Hotel Klosterbräu, zwei Reithallen, eine Tennishalle mit acht Plätzen, in der unter anderem die Senioren-Europameisterschaften ausgetragen werden, sowie sechs Sandplätze beim Tennisclub Seefeld und weitere neben der Tennishalle. Seit 2011 gibt es eine asphaltierte Rollskistrecke mit der Möglichkeit zum Rollskibiathlon.

Die Juwelen der österreichischen Golflandschaft

Golfer kommen am Seefelder Hochplateau voll auf ihre Kosten. Egal ob Sie Ihr Handicap verbessern wollen oder sich auf einem der schönsten Plätze der Welt vollkommen auf Ihr Spiel konzentrieren wollen – hier finden Sie die ideale Umgebung dafür!

Golfplatz Seefeld-Wildmoos

Die 18 Spielbahnen des Golfclubs Seefeld-Wildmoos, der zu den „Leading Golf Courses Austria“ zählt, ist so geplant, dass er sich ideal in die hügelige Almlandschaft mit Wiesen, Lärchen- und Birkenwäldern einfügt. Umgeben von majestätischen Tannen und Fichten wird er zu Recht von Fachleuten unter die Top 100 Golfplätze der Welt gereiht. www.seefeldgolf.at

Golfplatz Golfacademy-Seefeld

Die 9-Loch Golfacademy bietet ein perfektes Übungsareal in allen Schwierigkeitsgraden, ausgebildete Golf-Pros begleiten Sie hier bei ihren ersten Schritten auf gepflegten Grün.
www.golfacademy-seefeld.at

Verkehrsanbindung

Seefeld liegt an der Mittenwaldbahn, ist von München und Innsbruck aus mit der Bahn erreichbar und liegt an der S-Bahn-Linie  S5  Innsbruck-Scharnitz. Mit der Umstellung auf den Winterfahrplan 2010 der Deutschen Bahn wurde der Bahnhof Seefeld zur höchsten ICE-Haltestelle in Europa. Am Wochenende wird er von insgesamt je zwei ICE pro Richtung bedient (Jahresfahrplan 2012).

Per Pkw kann man Seefeld über die B 177 erreichen, die von Zirl über den Zirler Berg nach Scharnitz bzw. Mittenwald (Bayern) führt. Eine weitere Straßenverbindung aus dem Inntal führt von Telfs über Mösern, über die Straße nach Leutasch lässt sich Mittenwald auch unter Umgehung des Scharnitzpasses erreichen.

Der Flughafen Innsbruck liegt etwa 20 km von Seefeld entfernt. Im Winter gibt es Anbindungen aus Hamburg, Berlin, Köln und Frankfurt

seefeld-map